Urban Fathers' Liberation Front

Confused dads working out the city

IKEA: A new benchmark in customer service

on November 23, 2014

I had a lovely day planned with the family today.  Indeed, we had a lovely day planned yesterday too.  But it’s all been sabotaged by IKEA.  We’re in the middle of a big internal build at home at the moment (week 12 of about 15) and the point has arrived where the kitchen needs to be ordered.  We’ve settled on an IKEA kitchen and have already endured two, two hour meetings preceded by long waits in the store because they’re overloaded with appointments (you have to wander round the store for a couple of hours waiting for your appointment).

Saturday saw us have another long appointment (preceded by a 90 minute wait) that finally saw us order and part with the cash (ouch).  IKEA deliver the next day, although the last time we’d threatened ordering, it would have been the day after tomorrow, so we were hoping for some negotiation They weren’t having that – it would be delivered the next day; today, Sunday.

We were given a 10-4 delivery window, but no finer detail within that.  We were due in west London for 1230, so we’d hoped for an early delivery.  When this didn’t materialise, my wife took the kids over and I stayed in for the delivery.  By 1530 I was convinced it wasn’t going to come.  I’d tried to ring IKEA once to check out where it might be, but had given up because of the ’30 minute waiting time’.  By 1530 though I persevered despite the ’60 minute waiting time’.  After 34 minutes, I got an answer – the delivery was on its way and would be here soon.  We’d had now gone past the original delivery window and were into no-man’s land.  I had also checked out the website.  I could send an email for help (which I did – they’ll respond to me within 5 days!) or I could ring the store (which was the same number as the general number and so, I suspect, not ringing the store at all).

The delivery arrived just after 1800, a full two hours beyond a six hour delivery window.  I’d been waiting a eight hours.  My wife was on her way back from the day out.  When I heard the doorbell ring, IKEA, it seemed, had decided to give three young lads a van to drive around in on the basis that they might pass by one of the houses on a list now and again.  They clearly been told not to apologise or show any concern for failing to hit a delivery target.  They were more concerned with where to park than bringing the stuff in, and didn’t put any of it where it needed to go (I accept it was in a vague vicinity, which might be their instruction).  There was no chance to look through to see if they’d delivered the right stuff and they left me unable to close the front door despite the rain outside.  All for £29.  Thanks IKEA!  Bargain!

I’ve had a grotty weekend.  The day out with the kids  has gone.  I’ve had to lug 123 individual boxes around the house having waited eight hours for a delivery that should have arrived at least two hours sooner.  I have spent more time than I care to think about in IKEA, and now they have my x-thousand quid they seem not to care a jot about the rest of my project and the safe arrival of my furniture.

Dear Richard.  Thanks you for being a valued IKEA customer.  Would you recommend us to a friend.  No, IKEA, f*ck off.

 

One response to “IKEA: A new benchmark in customer service

  1. subversivite says:

    Painful…There is something about the warehouse / queuing / customer services areas of IKEA that start to feel like one of the circles of hell if you have to stay there too long. Two hours would probably be enough to end my sanity, never mind eight hours’ house arrest.

Leave a Reply

